India Fest Chess Championship 2019

AIHR and HRCA partnered again this year to run a chess competition in conjunction with India Fest 2019.

The competition took place November 2nd, 2019 from 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM at the Hindu Temple of Hampton Roads, 217 Sampson Creek Road, Chesapeake, VA 23322.

The top 3 players in each section will receive a trophy on stage at India Fest on November 23rd.

See for information on India Fest 2019.
Congratulations to our trophy winners!
1st – Aneesh Desai
2nd – Timothy McCall
3rd – Daniel Baesler
1st – Wolfgang Ulrichs
2nd – Simon Bustillos
3rd – Kenneth Wells
Senior Rookie:
1st – Pranav Maddipatla
2nd – Alen Abhilash
3rd – Emran Ali
Intermediate Rookie:
1st – Bisaj Shrestha
2nd – Alvin Abhilash
3rd – Daniel Rysavy
Junior Rookie:
1st – Saharsh Komuroju
2nd – Luis Duprey
3rd – Aarna Aithani

Complete final results can be found here:

For those unfamiliar with tiebreaks, the numbers after each player’s total score in the chart represent four different math formulas the computer runs for us, specified by the United States Chess Federation, that all measure in some way how difficult it was for you to earn your points / how challenging your opponents were.  This is how we determine who gets a trophy when, for example, five players all have three points and there are only three trophies.
Thank you to everyone for making it such a smooth, fun day!